Skip to content

Legislative Notes for March 15, 2012

March 12, 2012

As I prepare to return to the legislature this week I took some time to reflect on the importance of the legislative break during town meeting week.  I have found over the years that this one week break at the approximate mid point of the session serves several very important purposes.

First and foremost it gave me an opportunity to meet with you and other constituents.  It was nice to see people at the pre town meeting , at the polls and and throughout the week around town.  Several people posed some really good questions and many others expressed their concern about what has been happening in Montpelier.  I received many questions about the healthcare proposal and numerous comments about how expensive it is to live in Vermont.  It is disappointing to have these questions and comments  posed to me and not be able to reply with an intelligent answer or even a reasonable response.

The other important thing the break does for me is it allows me to get most things caught up, rejuvenated  and re-motivates me to continue the fight to make a difference,  I did get many things completed last that have been sitting on my to do list for weeks.  Realizing that we are now more than half done the session  adds motivation.  Spending time with co-workers, lunch with friends and time with family this week has definitely rejuvenated me.  I am now ready to return to the Statehouse and continue the fight to make Vermont a better place to live.

Upon my return to the Statehouse on Tuesday, I am sure that we will  find that the next two weeks will be very busy.  These two weeks are also known as crossover dates.  This means that if a bill does not pass the body before the end of the week it is likely deemed to die and never be discussed.

I look forward to representing you and your concerns in Montpelier. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions, comments or concerns. I am very interested in hearing from you. During the session, I can be reached at the Statehouse by calling 1-800-322-5616 or by cell at 373-5960. My email address is dturner@leg.state.vt.us. My web-site address is www.donturnerjr.com. Thank you and have a great week.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

