Skip to content

Legislative Notes for April 25, 2013

April 20, 2013

The House completed debate on the marijuana decriminalization bill this week. I thought that we had heard all of the reasons to either support or oppose this issue on last Friday. However, that wasn’t to be the case and we debated it for another four hours on Tuesday. As I reported last week, this issue of decriminalizing marijuana was strongly opposed by law enforcement officers. I understand their concern and the conflicting message it sends to our youth about drug use. As a result, I could not support this bill.

The House also adopted a new process for electing the Vermont Adjutant General (TAG). The new process establishes an interview panel and criteria for TAG Candidates to satisfy before they can be brought forth to the entire legislature for election. This action resulted from the most recent TAG race in which a person ran for the position with no military experience in order to make a political statement. This person opposed the F-35 planes being based in Burlington and made a mockery of the TAG election process in order to get access to the media. This is a very important position and I am happy that the legislature addressed this issue in a timely manner. I voted to support passage of this bill.

Friday was Grange day at the Statehouse. I had the pleasure to meet with Grange members from around the State prior to the beginning of the session. I also introduced the Grange members including Milton Grange members Jim and Linda Ballard, Mike Daley and Dale Sanderson on the House floor. It is always nice to have constituents visit the Statehouse.

As your representative, I look forward to representing you and your concerns in Montpelier. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions, comments or concerns. I am very interested in hearing from you. During the session, I can be reached at the Statehouse by calling 1-800-322-5616 or by cell at 373-5960. My email address is dturner@leg.state.vt.us. My web-site address is www.donturnerjr.com. Thank you and have a great week.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

